Author Q and A with John McClements

IMG_0103

What inspired me to write the book? The book was partly based on true accounts. When I went to work on the cruise ship which sailed out of Miami, I met a woman called Drinda, when the ship sailed into San Fran she convince me to jump ship,  I lived and worked, using my cabins mates Identification, the date was 1982 during the Falklands war with UK and Argentina. Drinda introduced me to her friend, his name was Peter, and for my book I changed his name to Pedro.
A lot of things had happened then and I felt that I had to write about it.
What books do you enjoy? I really enjoy reading books by the author Vince Flynn
What is your next projects? Don’t have a next project of such as yet, too busy running restaurants but in my spare time I may write a follow up to The Assassins keeper
Wouldn’t it be nice to be rich? Not sure about that, I think I would spend all the money too quick, my son James and myself we love to travel business class, might be tempted to upgrade to first class.
Would you ever write an autobiography? I would never write an autobiography, too many secrets
What are your hobbies? When I get it I write, but because I am chef by trade, both my wife and myself enjoy the fine dinning restaurant experiences
Favourite places in the world? Would love to visit Argentina but can’t convince the family. Though Tokyo by far was my favourite
As a chef what do you enjoy eating? Favourite food is French cuisine, but I really would eat anything, if it moves I would eat it. Am afraid thats the chefie attitude in me.
What inspires me? After working in a busy hot kitchen for 14 hours a day, getting home late, relaxing, winding down. With me it’s like shaking a fizzy drink and once it settles you are ready to do it again. Most of the time I write at night which I can reflect on the past and think things through what I want to write about.
What is the best advice you were ever given? Best advice I was given was write about what you know
Leave a Reply

